Home > Literature, Reviews > Review of Perdido Street Station by China Miéville

Review of Perdido Street Station by China Miéville

I had a lot of trouble with this book: a) I can't believe that so many people like it so much, and b) it was only through sheer bloody-mindedness that I made myself finish it – with a gap of a couple of months halfway through. Perhaps … perhaps if it wasn't so well-liked and plastered with glowing recommendations I'd have gotten on with it better. Anyway – I didn't much like the style it was written in; it was as if it was written by a teenager who had just discovered what a thesaurus is. Too many times, there were words just used for the hell of it, out of context. Now I'm not averse to bit of prolix grandiloquence, but it has to kept under tight control. I didn't feel much empathy for the main character. I didn't think it was especially well structured. And many of its ideas seemed to come straight out of roleplaying games (not that there's anything wrong with RPGs, but much of their material is arbitrary and 'cool'). Fair play to the author – with all his accolades he's clearly doing something right. Beats me what it is.

Categories: Literature, Reviews
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

