Home > Life > Urban/Rural

Urban/Rural

So my trip to London was successful and on the whole pleasant – it wasn’t without its problems though.

I met a former colleague in the Department for Education and Skills (at least, that’s what it was called (most of the time) when I was there), a bunch of Liberal Democrats and two guys from one of my London roleplaying groups. That was all good. Drew, Colin and I went for a Korean meal, where I completely failed to impress anyone with my Korean language skills; but the food wasn’t bad. Being invited to the AGM of the Camden Lib Dems was a strange coincidence, but also quite efficient as it let me bump into various acquaintances.

On the negative side, the hostel I went to originally (and stayed at for two nights, inexplicably) wasn’t up to much – generally grotty, somewhat smelly and even verminous (I heard some small creature rooting around in the wastepaper bin one night). After that I checked into another, much nicer hostel, in Belgravia. The bunks were smart, bright red and had a pair of large drawers beneath the lower bunk. The room had shelving (can you imagine that?) – many hostels don’t.

Returning to the hostel on Thursday night, I anticipated a reasonable night’s sleep. However, the mattress was very hard and not conducive to slumber. Then, not long after I retired, some Croatians started chanting loud and aggressively in the next room. I complained to someone on duty at reception, and they came and spoke to the Croatians three times over the next hour or so. On the last occasion, the Balkan buggers were ejected from the hostel – at least until they came back to actually sleep … which, naturally, was before I slept.

There was more to it than that, but I can’t be bothered writing about it now – or probably ever.

Categories: Life
  1. Drew
    2 December 2007 at 2:19 pm

    Well you at least impressed me with your Korean skills! The food was very nice I thought, I’m glad we went with Korean, as I said I hadn’t had it before, so was a good new gastronomic experience, even if we had to stand in the cold for hours waiting for Colin.

    I was good to see you again Sean. We’ll definitely have to meet up again next time you’re in the area.

  2. 5 December 2007 at 2:39 am

    Thanks, Drew; you’re too kind, as ever.

    Korean food is pretty decent – although it is better in Korea where my bibimbap and side dishes which came to about £15 would cost about £2.50 (minimum, anyway).

    It was really nice to hang out with you and Colin again – the social side of roleplaying is perhaps the main thing I miss about London and Korea.

    Look out for me in March/April next year (maybe) or April/May the year after (definitely).

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

