Home > Travel > Hot and cold

Hot and cold

If there’s one thing I hate … actually, there are many things I hate … One of the many things I hate is being cold. And last night was freezing.

Even in winter, it’s not really what you expect in India, but, while the days can be very warm, the temperature really drops off at night. It’s also a lot cooler in the hours of darkness than it was in Delhi – but, of course, Delhi is a big city, and big cities generate and retain heat very well.

I slept in my clothes under two blankets and wasn’t entirely comfortable. In the morning I slept in until after ten because I was too scared to get up and brave either a cold shower in the cold or going in rumpled, sweaty state to get hot water.

I needn’t have been too worried, though: there was actually hot water in the taps. In the hotel in Delhi, hot water was pretty scarce between about seven and eight in the morning; presumably when I was told I had to get buckets of hot water from reception yesterday, that’s what was meant.

Now I’m clean, breakfasted, kitted out in my lightest clothes and my hat and vaguely prepared to face the world. I’m off to Agra Fort; somehow I don’t want to go straight to the Taj Mahal – maybe I’ll do that later today.

Categories: Travel
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

