Home > Life, Travel > Fuck it

Fuck it

Today I’ve decided that my next destination should be Delhi, then the Emirates office, then home. I’m fed up with India. More specifically, I’m fed up with being stared and laughed at. The ubiquitous crowds and dirt and refuse and pushy rickshaw drivers don’t help. And the scarcity of anywhere to go and relax – like coffee shops. And fact that the process of travelling is so intimidating.

I can feel myself becoming more and more misanthropic – racist, even. And that’s not a good thing.

With all its flaws and annoyances, South Korea is seeming more and more like a paradise. When I return there I promise not to get angry at the country and the Koreans (just don’t hold me to that).

Categories: Life, Travel
  1. savasana
    5 January 2008 at 2:46 am

    I hear Canada is nice this time of year…..:-P! (if you like shivering that is)

    That is too bad that you aren’t enjoying it enough to stay; it must be a great disappointment.

    I’m really surprised to read that you are sincerely looking forward to Korea though; I only started reading partway through your stint there but it really didn’t seem like you enjoyed yourself that much. Why the change of heart (or did I just misread your discontent there in the first place?)?

  2. 6 January 2008 at 9:47 am

    It was the specifics of my relationship with my hagwon that I really didn’t like – and being ill wasn’t much fun, either. But I do genuinely miss my roleplaying group, my Korean class and the general camaraderie amongst the English teachers (even if I was a bit semi-detached from them).

    And I have just been to Canada, you know. :p

  3. 15 January 2008 at 5:20 am

    at least you’ve made it so far! if u wanna enjoy india travel in a cab, never walk through the streets to “get in touch” with the people. don’t expect hospitality from pedestrains.Go visit a five star hotel, the guys there are trained to be hospitable.see the sights, enjoy ur hotel stay and get out!
    of course i live in India which is why im able to give u these tips.

  4. 15 January 2008 at 11:54 am

    Thanks. It hasn’t all been bad and by the time I leave I’ll have stayed for a month and a half – that’s plenty of time to get a flavour of India and see some of the sights.

  5. 15 January 2008 at 12:44 pm

    I’m in no way dissing my own country but let’s face it foreigners invoke great curiosity in us, which might not always be a plesant experience 🙂

  6. 17 January 2008 at 1:22 pm

    I don’t mind being looked at, and mostly I can ignore being stared at. But – in northern India – the unselfconsciousness of the stares is difficult to deal with: I feel that people look at me like I’m a strange animal. In the south of India, people seem much more accepting that a foreigner might be walking down their street.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

