Home > Life > Sick Sunday

Sick Sunday

I was sick three times yesterday. I’m not really sure why. I stayed in bed until mid-afternoon, which left me with a headache, but not such a bad headache that it would make me nauseous. Each bout of vomiting came on very quickly. The second time, having left the toilet lid down from the previous occasion, I didn’t quite have time to raise the lid before my mouthful of vomit was ejected from me by further spasmings of my oesophagus. Consisting mainly of tea with a few remains of muesli and cheese from a sandwich I’d had the previous night, it was very liquid vomit – you can probably image the resulting mess (not that you’d want to).

I feel better today (not that I actually felt that bad yesterday), if a little fragile. I’m going to Plymouth on Wednesday to see my friend from Bath, Alex. The coach trip will take about nine hours and I’m coming back up on Saturday, so that gives us two full days and an evening to hang out – although Alex has classes as well. It was his birthday recently, and I’ve just bought him the first book in one of my favourite fantasy series – Gardens of the Moon, volume one of The Malazan Book of the Fallen by Steven Erikson.

I also just bought four Nickelback albums from HMV for £20 – which I regard as quite a good deal.

Life has been pretty boring recently – mainly because I’ve been very lazy. I started looking at Korea information again, and have found that Korean Immigration has instituted new rules for people going over to teach English on an E-2 visa. Part of this requires you to get a criminal background check from your country’s authorities.

I once had a Criminal Records Bureau check when I started working at a couple of youth and community centres in Bath. Only organisations can initiate CRB checks, though, so Britons, it appears, have to make a request for access to their local police under Freedom of Information regulations. Which costs a tenner. I have the form printed off, the problem now is making a list of all the places I’ve lived in the last ten years. I have the addresses, but I’m not too sure about the dates.

In addition, once in Korea you have to undergo a medical check, mainly, it seems, to root out drug-users and people with HIV/AIDS. There’s also something about an interview at your nearest Korean consulate; I think I read that that only applies to people going to Korea for the first time. There may be further hurdles, like having apostilled documents (meaning, effectively, that the notarisation is itself notarised). Sounds like lots of fun.

Categories: Life
  1. Drew
    13 February 2008 at 10:44 am

    Sorry to hear you’ve been a bit ill. Hope its just a one off!

  2. 14 February 2008 at 3:19 pm

    Thanks – I think it was.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

