Post watch

Last week I posted a box of books to a friend in Korea. The books are for me – they’re a selection of books I own but haven’t read, and really ought to read. Plus, it’ll save me having to buy books over there (although I like buying books – hence all these unread ones). I expect over the next year I’ll get Toll the Hounds (Steven Erikson) and Necrophenia (Robert Rankin), which are due out this summer, and maybe A Dance with Dragons, should George R R Martin finally get round to finishing it. Before I left Korea last year I posted my self a similar but larger box; if I remember rightly it weighed about 20kg and cost 40-odd thousand won (20-odd pounds). The package I sent last week weighed 8kg and cost £75. £75!

Also recently, I received Reise, Reise (Rammstein) and Queen Rock Montreal, having won them on eBay. They only took a month to arrive – and, in fact, got here a couple of days after I sent a second message to the seller asking where they were. Haven’t really listened to the Queen CD, but the Rammstein is pretty good – it has a big, fat, epic kind of sound.

I’ve currently got a couple of bids in on the two Rammstein albums I don’t yet have – Mutter und Herzeleid. I suppose I can only hope that they’ll arrive a little more swiftly – before I depart for the Orient, anyway.

Whilst on eBay, I had a brief look at kinetic watches. The idea of a watch that powers itself from your body movement and is therefore self-sufficient (as it were), is very appealing, but they are very expensive (my current watch was £25 several years ago; it’s had three new batteries, I think). Anyway, I noticed that most of the pictures of the watches showed the time as 7-10 minutes past 10. Strange, but surely not a coincidence. The explanation that occurred to me was that the hands at this time form a tick, and therefore constitute a subliminal message: ‘A-OK’.

  1. Drew
    11 March 2008 at 11:38 am

    Mutter is great. I think it’s probably their best album.

  2. Drew
    11 March 2008 at 11:38 am

    INfact, this has put me in the mood for some Rammstein. I shall be loading them on my iPod tonight.

  3. 11 March 2008 at 10:29 pm

    I’m already very familiar with three songs from Mutter from Kerrang! albums – in fact that’s where my interest in Rammstein comes from. And I just won the album, but not Herzeleid – so I’ve bid on another copy.

    Drew, I’ve just decided you should register a blog on WordPress – if only so that you can upload an avatar and not appear as a kind of white pawn on my recent comments list.

  4. Drew
    14 March 2008 at 2:58 pm

    Ha. Ok. I shall try and make a blog.

  5. Drew
    14 March 2008 at 3:00 pm

    Although doesn’t the fact that I acquiesced so readily to your demand mean that I’m a pawn of yours in some more metaphorical sense..?

  6. 14 March 2008 at 3:49 pm

    Exactly. And why weren’t you at Heathrow to capture the Queen?

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

