Home > Employment, Life > Soon, but not yet

Soon, but not yet

Today I had a letter from Derbyshire Constabulary. It confirmed receipt of my subject access request for information about me held by the police (the new Korean regulations for granting visas mean that prospective English teachers need to have a criminal background check. If I was getting a job in the UK this would be done by the Criminal Records Bureau, but only organisations can initiate this; getting a disclosure under Data Protection provisions is the next best thing). I might as well quote the letter directly:

Your application has been processed by Derbyshire Constabulary and forwarded to the National Identification Service who will reply direct to you.

Please note that the Police service, in common with all other users of computers, is required to supply the information within 40 days of receiving such a request. There are a considerable number of requests similar to the one made by yourself and as a result the reply from the National Identification service is likely to be towards the end of the 40 day period.

Should you have not received you response by 19/04/2008 we ask that you make contact with this office in order for further enquiries to be made on your behalf.

The letter is dated 11 March and 40 days before the deadline it mentions would be 10 March. I sent the application off at the end of February, so either it took its time getting there or the 40 day period started when Derbyshire Police sent it to this NIS … or it was just sitting in an in-tray for a week. I really ought to have done this earlier, but not for nothing do I tag myself ‘the Prince of Procrastination’.

If I take this letter at its word (so to speak), I won’t be returning to Korea, probably, until May … hmm, around about the time of my birthday, in fact.

I’ve recently been in touch with a couple of parties regarding teaching jobs – one being the fiancée of one friend in Korea, the other being Adventure Teaching, an agency recommended by another friend in Korea – and I’ve e-mailed them to give them the news. Having had a similar experience last time with my university transcripts, I reckon it’s going to put a damper on job offers until I get it sorted.

I’ve also found a group on Facebook snappily entitled The Korean E2 Visa Application Helpdesk Centre for UK & Irish Applicants. It has what seems to be an excellent guide to the visa application process – it has similar information to what I’ve gleaned from other sources, but all in one place and specifically oriented to inhabitants of the British Isles. From this, I gather that once I get my liberated information I’ll have to take the document to a solicitor to get it notarised, and then take it to the Foreign and Commonwealth Office to get it apostilled (which is essentially notarising the notarisation). Which will entail another trip to London and more expense (I could post it, but it’ll be much quicker to go in person).

Also, it looks like the days of the traditional ‘visa run’ to Japan are over; according to what I’ve read, visa issuance will be, um, issued from Korea and I’ll then have to take that to the Korean embassy to finally get the visa. Which will entail another trip to London and more expense (I could post it, but it’ll be much quicker to go in person).

With all this prospective expense and such it occurs to me that I could, indeed, ought to get a part-time job (the shock! the horror!) – my savings account is now down to a measly three figures (not including those after the decimal point). I’m thinking something along the lines of shelf-stacking – nothing too demanding. Also, it gives me the go-ahead to try establishing a social life in the area. I’ve thought on and off of joining a roleplay group or a book club, but, well, we all know about my procrastinatory nature.

Coda

Whilst writing this post I had a sudden revelation and made a decision of a nigh on life-changing nature … and I’m not going to tell you what it is.

Categories: Employment, Life
  1. savasana
    14 March 2008 at 2:42 am

    Oh you are such a tease!! Come on, spill it!! 😀

  2. 14 March 2008 at 3:53 pm

    Well, ‘nigh on life-changing’ is probably over-egging the pudding. More life-modifying – if that.

    Specifically, it’s about my future nom de plume – an issue that I’ve been pondering for some time. My choice isn’t perfect – because it isn’t my actual name (which is even less perfect) – but it’s the best I’m going to find, I think.

    As soon as I’m in danger of being published, you’ll find out what it is.

  3. savasana
    15 March 2008 at 2:48 am

    Sounds like a plan Stan. Oh!! That wasn’t it, was it? 😛

  4. 15 March 2008 at 3:21 pm

    No, not Stan, nor Olly neither.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

