ABChanges

I’ve added a new page to my beautiful web log: Book Reviews. As you might be able to deduce from the cryptic title, it brings together links to all the book reviews I’ve posted in the last two years.

There are fifty authors represented in the list (more, actually, taking co-authorship into account), from Adichie (as in Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie of Purple Hibiscus moderate well-knownness) to Vegdahl (as in Sonia Vegdahl of CultureShock Korea obscurity. I had thought Carlos Ruiz Zafón would be at the bottom, but it turns out Ruiz is a surname (meaning ‘son of Ruy’)).

The list reminded very much of something I’d heard on the news many years ago, namely that people whose names begin with letters in the first half of the alphabet are more successful than those with otherwise-initialled monikers. Of those fifty authors, thirty-seven are in the A-M category, including five As, five Bs and five Cs.

Damnit, I think this means Obama isn’t going to be President – although Nick Clegg could become Prime Minister.

(Yeah, right.)

  1. savasana
    14 April 2008 at 1:22 am

    So what you are saying is that I was doomed from the beginning and I can blame my lack of success on a poor choice made by my parents? Yeah, I can live with that :-P.

  2. 14 April 2008 at 4:28 pm

    ‘Fraid so, yes. Unless you go into business, of course; apparently the strength of character built by alphabetical discrimination helps business leaders named N-Z rise to the top. Read here for more.

    My post title was ABChanges – in the plural – but I forgot to mention the second change. I went into the bathroom a week or so ago intending to shave off a week or so’s worth of stubble. But I realised I didn’t want to waste all that good work, so I now have the beard known (to some) as ‘padlock’.

  3. savasana
    21 April 2008 at 3:10 am

    Now this business detail changes things considerably! I would love to have my own business focused on the arts…..does that qualify? Am I now automatically set up for success just by a relatively arbitrary decision made by my parents? Have I now run out of excuses for putting this giant leap off considering failure is no longer a possibility based on my first initial “P”? Or is it too close to “N” to take that kind of chance? Or have I misunderstood and this entire name thing is based on the last name, in my case a “G”, meaning my business venture would not be helped yet because it is in the first half of the alphabet I am pre-disposed to success anyway? And I can no longer blame my parents?

    Well, the only solution is to change my name to a symbol and be done with the whole mess. I’ve always like the ellipsis….though the ampersand as some character….hmmmm….I’ll think on it. 😛

    Oh, and facial hair rocks!

  4. 22 April 2008 at 3:50 pm

    Yes, surnames are the key – something to do with being arranged alphabetically in class, all the Thompsons and Wilsons and Youngs sat at the back being arseholes.

    Have considered the em dash? Or even better, the candelabra thing representing psychology?

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

