Home > Employment > Notable notes on notifying a notorious notary (so good a post title I used it twice)

Notable notes on notifying a notorious notary (so good a post title I used it twice)

As my appointment with the notary public was at eleven, I had to get up much earlier than normal today. I’d considered getting the ten to nine train to Manchester, but in the event that was just silly. Half-way to the station I realised that, in concentrating on getting there on time and making sure I had my documents – police letter, passport and credit card statement – I’d forgotten the map I’d printed out about six hours earlier and the notary’s phone number.

I didn’t have time to go back and get it (not without running the whole way), but I knew the address and had a fair idea where it was – not far from the Arndale Centre. I strode along Market Street, turned right at Brown Street (discovering a branch of one of my favourite shops – Fopp – on the right) passed the service entrance to the relevant building, Pall Mall Court, turned right on to King Street and there I was.

Once in the building I scanned the list of companies and saw no sign of Aaron and Partners; the reception guard directed me to their offices – where there appeared to be no sign of the firm’s name. After waiting in reception for a few minutes (Sky News was on a plasma screen and I realised I’d forgotten to watch the coverage or even check the result of the Pennsylvania primary), the notary, one Colin Rowe (as opposed to multiple … oh, wait – I did that joke in my previous post) took me to his office.

He was a quiet, pleasant, middle-aged man (much like my personal stereotype of a civil servant), and he set about the brief process of notarising my letter. At one point he went to photocopy my documents and when he came back he showed me the copies of the police letter – they were emblazoned with

FRAUD
FRAUD
FRAUD
FRAUD

all across the page. I think he intended to notarise one of the copies, but of course, that wasn’t going to work.

He suggested that there probably weren’t many notaries in Whaley Bridge and I told him about the notary I’d contacted first and how they wanted £150 for faxing the signatory. He said that the letter was self-approbative, the watermark and blue bands proving its authenticity. I’m even more suspicious of that other solicitor’s office now.

As I predicted, the bill was £105.50. I gave him six twenties (I’d asked the cash machine for £150, but it didn’t like that), and, once he’d found someone to give him change, he gave me back £15. Which was nice. The letter should be apostilled (or apostillised, I’m not sure which) tomorrow and returned to me by special lawyer’s post on Friday, or maybe Monday.

In related news, it looks like I have an interview or two with hagwons in north-east Seoul tomorrow afternoon. One of them is a branch of the same place I worked for in Ansan, which strikes me as a little ominous – although limited details I was given showed that it was a marginally better deal than the other one.

So I may have a job very soon, but it’s likely to still be over a month before I get to Korea.

Categories: Employment
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

