Home > Lexicon > broadloom

broadloom

A prosaic word, but it was a new one on me when I read it in Oryx and Crake.

SYLLABICATION: broad·loom

PRONUNCIATION: brôdlōōm’

ADJECTIVE: Woven on a wide loom: a broadloom carpet.

OTHER FORMS: broad’loom‘ -NOUN

Source: Bartelby.com.

Categories: Lexicon
  1. savasana
    27 April 2008 at 4:47 am

    Hooray for a Canadian book! It has been some time since I read it and my memory for such things is simply terrible so I remember nothing of the details. I do very much like Atwood (but they will kick you out of Canada if you say otherwise). What did you think of it (or did I miss the review on the blog)?

  2. 27 April 2008 at 10:08 am

    Yes, you missed it. :p Long story short, I liked it but with reservtions about its originality and agenda.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

