Home > Life > Happy birthday, fucker

Happy birthday, fucker

… To quote one of my favourite Faith No More songs.

Yes, today is my birthday – well, by the time anyone reads this it’ll be yesterday.

I hadn’t planned on doing anything in particular – all my friends live in distant lands (like the south of England), and I don’t have much money or motivation to make an event of the day. I spoke to my friend Lawrence on the phone on Saturday and he suggested doing something, however minimal – giving myself a little treat. I considered going to see Iron Man (which I will do anyway, because it’s the kind of thing that really needs to be seen on the big screen. The trailer excites me – if only because of the great music – I mean, it has Black Sabbath’s ‘Iron Man’! Obvious, but frackin’ cool), but it was raining. And it’ll be cheaper to go during the week.

So instead I watched the last six or seven episodes of season three of Battlestar Galactica. Quite enjoyable. I may – or may not – get round to writing a post about the series at some point.

Apart from that, it hasn’t been the most joyous of weekends. The reason being that on Friday night my sister’s new boyfriend came round to tell me off for being here. On the two occasions when I’ve spoken to him, my overriding impression has been one of stupidity. To be more specific, he swears far too much and he speaks over me when I reply to him. He’s spent the last two or three weekends here having sex with my sister, while my niece and nephew are at their dad’s house. Being woken up by the bed banging and your sister moaning in the next room is … kind of annoying.

So his message was one of wanting privacy, telling me I was taking the piss by staying here so long, and that I should hurry up and take the job I’d been offered. The really annoying thing is that he’s not far from the truth on the second of those issues. My sister has been very generous letting me stay here, and, while I haven’t been dwelling on it, I’ve felt a sense of awkwardness that the visa process is taking so long.

I have, though, been dwelling on the confrontation between him and me. My first thought was that he was speaking on behalf of my sister. She’s never hinted at anything like this, and it didn’t make sense that she was getting him to do her dirty work for her. But then she might be scared of confronting me with it (I know I would be) – although, she’s always seemed quite assertive to me. But then I considered that he may well just be speaking for himself, so he can ‘frack’ her without an eavesdropper next door (… when I say ‘eavesdropper’ I mean, only by virtue of happening to be there when it’s happening … I’ve been taking the dog on some long walks these last two weekends).

I also thought of asking my sister about this. My reasoning now is that if the latter of the two theories above is true, then I don’t want to cause further problems. The truth is I’m just scared of an awkward conversation.

As for the last part of his message – hurry up and get a job – well, that’s just telling me to do what I’m already doing. Nevertheless, I did send a few more e-mails to recruiters on Friday and Saturday. I also e-mailed my Korean recruiter-cum-fiancée-of-a-friend to see what was happening about the job I’d had the interview for. She said she’d sent my comments on the contract to the school, and addressed some of them herself, and they should reply on Tuesday.

I have a feeling I’m going to be accepting that job. Part of me just wants to take the first offer that comes along – part of me wants to refuse it just to spite the abovementioned individual (… of the male variety). It’d be somewhat amusing if I agreed to work there and then they said they wanted me to start in July.

Categories: Life
  1. Drew
    7 May 2008 at 10:24 am

    Your sister’s boyfriend sounds like a prick. Sorry you had a bit of an unpleasant weekend. I hate those kind of situations.

  2. 8 May 2008 at 12:43 pm

    Thanks.

  3. the "boyfriend" in question
    11 May 2008 at 3:52 pm

    firstly lets tell the whole story about staying at your sisters house for is it almost 6 months?
    and drew nice work drawing your own conclusion of me from a rather one sided,lame description of myself.
    have a great week both of you.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

