Home > Miscellaneous > May the fourth be with us

May the fourth be with us

While I may be the most famous person to have been born on the fourth of May, some other notable personages share my birthday:

1825: Thomas Henry Huxley. Any hero of evolutionary theory is a hero of mine. Actually, I barely know anything about him.

1923: Eric Sykes. Comedy hero.

1928: Hosni Mubarak. Persident of Egypt. I remember some years ago hearing a news story about Egyptians being arrested for no other apparent reason than they were heavy metal fans. Mubarak isn’t a hero, then.

1929: Audrey Hepburn. Cinematic heroine. The only Hepburn film I can remember watching is My Fair Lady; more prominent in my mind are the Alistair McGowan sketches featuring Ronni Ancona as the Anglo-Dutch cigarette holder-holding pixie.

1937: Dick Dale. Guitar hero of Dick Dale and the Del-Tones fame. You know ‘Misirlou’? No? Well, yes, you do. That music from Pulp Fiction. That guitar thing. That’s Dick Dale. (Although he didn’t write the piece.)

1940: Robin Cook. Not the late Labour political hero, but the cheesy medical thriller hero.

1951: Mick Mars. Another guitar hero, this time of Mötley Crüe.

1952: Michael Barrymore. Light entertainment hero and pool party anti-hero.

1968: Julian Barratt. Comedy hero – of The Mighty Boosh fame. I’ve never actually seen The Mighty Boosh, but a fellow Englishman in Ansan showed me a compilation of Moon clips. They were fairly amusing.

So there you have it. Next year I’ll do famous events.

Categories: Miscellaneous
  1. 5 May 2008 at 2:37 am

    Happy birthday for yesterday. My dad’s birthday is also 4th May.

  2. Gonzo
    5 May 2008 at 8:01 am

    A happy birthday to Michael Barrymore, however I fear the party celebrations may have the dark cloud hanging over them with the death of Stuart Lubbock still unexplained & a mystery murder.

  3. 5 May 2008 at 10:19 am

    Thanks. Happy birthday to your dad, Jon.

    I have a friend whose mother shares a birthday with me. If I remember rightly, she has two birthdays: 4th May, when she was born, and 5th May when she was registered as being born.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

