Home > Lexicon > sockdolager

sockdolager

SYLLABICATION: sock·dol·a·ger

PRONUNCIATION: sŏk-dŏlə-jər

VARIANT FORMS: also sock·dol·o·ger

NOUN: Slang 1. A conclusive blow or remark. 2. Something outstanding.

ETYMOLOGY: Origin unknown.

Source: Bartelby.com.

“I never get things all wrong, though I’ve pulled some sockdolagers in my day.”

“Some what?”

“Nineteenth-century slang. Don’t mind me. The important thing is, I know what I’m talking about.”

Source: Turn of the Cards, Victor Milán.

Categories: Lexicon
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

