Home > Humour, Literature, Quotations > What I was saying about humour in Gate of Ivory, Gate of Horn

What I was saying about humour in Gate of Ivory, Gate of Horn

‘Gwyr was dead,’ I said. ‘Elidyr brought him back. So is he now living on borrowed time?’

‘It depends on the consequences,’ Guiwenneth said. ‘He might live to be old. Elidyr might take him back tomorrow. It all depends.’ She looked up at me with a smile. ‘I like your words, Christian.’

‘What words?’

‘Living on borrowed time! It’s a good way to talk about the gift Elidyr has given to Gwyr …’

‘Thank you.’

‘You use so many wonderful images in your talk …’

‘I do?’

They make my head spin. So soothing and charming, so … unusual.’

Clichés, I thought, but said, ‘I’m glad.’

‘I loved the way you talked about our fist night together, by the river, by the fire.’

‘Remind me.’

You said that it was like … like a midsummer night’s dream …’

‘Ah …’

‘And that’s just how it seemed!’

‘It did,’ I said. ‘I can’t deny it.’

‘You have such a way of using words to make visions. Sometimes when you speak, it’s like listening to a poet.’

‘It is,’ I agreed. ‘I certainly can’t deny that either.’

Source: Gate of Ivory, Gate of Horn by Robert Holdstock.

Categories: Humour, Literature, Quotations
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

