Home > Arts & Entertainment, Health & Exercise > Death lightly microwaved

Death lightly microwaved

I’ve had a rough few days. From the start of the week, the new schedule at the hagwon has left me rather sleep-deprived. Then I woke up in the middle of the night on Wednesday night with a headache and feeling sick. I vomited a mouthful of pizza and returned to bed – where I couldn’t get back to sleep.

By the morning, not only was I incredibly tired, but I had a sore throat and a cough – a combination which has left my oesophagus feeling like it’s been sandpapered (with the coarse kind, at that). I felt pretty miserable going into work for 8:30, and, during one of my morning classes, I had to leave to go and throw up all over the washroom floor. Which wasn’t deliberate – with the Asian squat toilet, it was simply difficult to get it on target.

I went to bed when I got in on Thursday and woke up some time during the night. I entertained myself by watching some Fawlty Towers and Red Dwarf – and actually this made me feel a lot better. On Friday I felt somewhat better than I had the previous day, but I was very low on energy, having not eaten much since Wednesday. Fortunately, my classes – probably picking up on the fact that I was under the weather – didn’t cause me any problems.

That night I went straight to bed again, got up a couple of hours later and decided I didn’t have the energy to do taekwondo. I watched the latter half of season one of Red Dwarf and went to sleep again. I slept for about ten hours and woke up before 7:30 – the perfect time to get up, get ready and go to Korean class. Which I did.

Right now, I’m over my nausea and my appetite is nearly back to normal (although I chose not to have breakfast this morning); my cough is a pain, and I have to take care not to walk too fast in case I trigger it. I also still have a sore neck and shoulders – that’s been going on for a couple of weeks now and I’m thinking about seeing a doctor about it.

On a more positive note, I’ve just bought Dreamer of Dune, Brian Herbert’s biography of his father, Frank, Queen + Paul Rodgers’s new album, The Cosmos Rocks and Guns N’ Roses’s new album Chinese Democracy. Even better, a slew of great TV programmes start or restart this weekend.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

