Home > Miscellaneous > Getting friendly with facial hair

Getting friendly with facial hair

I stopped shaving a few short weeks ago and grew a full beard. Last Tuesday I took a razor to this new growth and shaped it into the facial hair style known as friendly sideburns. I have a strip of beard running from my ears all the way down my jaw but stopping short of the chin. At that point it turns upward and joins my moustache. I also have an imperial. Other notable friendly sideburns wearers include writer Kim Newman and rock gods Lemmy and – most importantly – James Hetfield.

According to the Wikipedia entry, the word ‘sideburns’ is a corruption of ‘burnsides’ – for Ambrose Burnside, an American Civil War general.

Categories: Miscellaneous
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

