Home > Life > Goodbye, Paul

Goodbye, Paul

Last week I said goodbye to my friend Paul who is leaving Korea after three years here.

I met him at Seoul Korean Language Academy, during my second – and favourite – of three stints there. We had a fairly small class and the four regular Westerners – myself, Paul, Rachell and Kristian – became friends. The relaxed, friendly atmosphere of our classes was due in no small part to Paul’s easygoing nature. We had fun learning Korean and laughing at the difficulties and the anomalies of that curious language.

Paul left the class shortly after I left Korea in 2007 and when I came back last year our disparate locations made it tricky to hook up more than occasionally. I definitely missed Paul and the others when I went back to the Korean hagwon to restart my classes.

Paul’s on a new adventure now, travelling in southeast Asia; on Thursday he flew out to the Philippines.

All the best, Paul – you’re a superb gentleman and I hope too much time won’t pass before we meet again. And keep writing the blog – there’s no need to stop just because you return to Canada!

Categories: Life
  1. 24 June 2009 at 9:10 pm

    Sean!

    Thanks so much for the post! I feel so recognized! I wish we coulda had more time together – you’re great to hang out with. Oh well..I guess some things are not always meant to be!

    Good luck in Korea! Maybe you’ll turn into a lifer!!

    -Paul

  2. 26 June 2009 at 11:45 am

    Thanks, Paul. I don’t think I’ll become a lifer – I certainly hope not!

    I meant what I said about updating your blog – I want to know about your adventures. Hope you’re having fun.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

