Home > Employment > How to shag

How to shag

In one of my classes at the moment, I’m doing a book called Maniac Magee by Jerry Spinelli. It’s very good, actually, and it’s full of American slang and colloquialisms. One of the characters is an old baseball player, so there’s mention of ‘shagging fungoes’. A fungo is a ball hit high in the air to give fielders catching practice. To shag means to run and catch or fetch the ball.

I have to make vocabulary lists for my classes, and my definition for shag was ‘to chase and fetch’. I should have been specific about the nature of the thing that is chased and fetched because my student for that class wrote, as her practice sentence, ‘The police officer shagged the buglar [sic].’

Categories: Employment
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

