Home > Learning, Travel > Out of my shell

Out of my shell

Today was quite a pleasant day. I found out where the hostel was were Habiba stayed when she was in the country. I think I hadn’t understood a critical part of the directions right at the beginning, causing me to start off going one way, when I should have been going the other. It’s quite a nice little place – Tian An Men Sunrise Hostel – and is a short walk from Tiananmen Square, the Forbidden City, Mao’s Mausoleum and so on.

After checking in to this hostel, I checked out of the previous one, handed over a bag of clothes to be cleaned – 39 yuan – and headed off for a walk. I walked around Tiananmen Square and around a nearby area of pretty shops aimed at tourists.

After that I walked back to the area near both the hostels that is full of gleaming malls – even a Lotte Department Store (Lotte is one of Korea’s biggest brands) – for a bit of writing. Yes, I started my National Novel Writing Month project. To complete 50,000 words in one month you need to write 1800 words a day, on average. I didn’t write that much – maybe 450 words at most. I had to stop to go and meet Charlie and her Chinese boyfriend, Mark, for dinner.

Charlie’s time in Korea was pretty stressful, especially her work, and – although she told me some stories about her work that didn’t sound exactly pleasant – when I saw her tonight she seemed happier. Mark seemed like a nice chap, too. We went to a street full of little trendy shops and ate at a restaurant that sold western Chinese food – Xinjiang, where the Uyghurs are from – the staff there wore Muslim caps. We talked about work and life and they – Charlie, actually – provided me with some useful phrases to try to memorise and use.

We talked about the Chinese language, and I learned the Chinese character for ‘peacful’, which consists of two elements – ‘woman’ and ‘house’ – because a woman at home is peaceful, apparently. The character combining ‘pig’ and ‘house’ means ‘home’, because the Chinese are pig farmers. Interesting.

Mark translated the dice that I bought. One of them, the one with single characters, had things like ‘kiss’, ‘French kiss’, ‘pinch’ and ‘bite’; the other, the one with three characters to a side, had ‘up to the man’, ‘up to the woman’, ‘watch a movie’ and ‘go shopping’. Someone in China has clearly read Dice Man.

It was a very nice evening, and a nice enough day. I feel like I’m becoming a little more at ease at being in the country. I’ll try to be more adventurous tomorrow.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

