Home > Creativity, Literature > NaNoWriMo update

NaNoWriMo update

Yesterday, the first day of National Novel Writing Month, I only wrote 600 words of my 1,800 target. Today, however, I made up some ground by writing 2,000 words – 700 in the morning, 1300 in the evening, after dinner and sightseeing in the Forbidden City in Beijing. What I’ve been writing has flowed quite smoothly. My first character has turned out to be a resentful, but spirited coward. The story has a natural opening, although I’m not too sure of exactly what’s going to happen next. I think I’ve made a good start.

Target word count: 3,600. Actual word count: 2,600.

  1. Peter
    3 November 2010 at 1:47 am

    Resentful about what? Cowardly in the face of…?

  2. 3 November 2010 at 10:52 am

    I’ve worked out some of his back story, and it’s all to do with the fact that he’s the younger brother of a noble and was sent off to a monastery once he was old enough. I don’t want to talk too much about it, but the story begins with the end of the world. He’s not so much a coward, as someone who believes himself to be one.

    Haven’t heard from you in a while, Peter – how’s it going?

  3. Peter
    4 November 2010 at 6:44 am

    Good. I’m about finished up with my doctorate and expect to head back to Korea soon. Next year, assuming my dissertation progresses well. I may do a year here as a postdoc or in Japan/Hong Kong/Taiwan/Singapore so that when I return to Korea I will be able to land in one of the SKY universities. Then I should be in Korea for keeps… I think.

    My daughter Cecile or 김세실 or, as you’re in China now 金世悉 is 1 year old now. I still play burning wheel regularly (blackhounds.wikidot.com).

    I hope to see you again when in Korea. The quality of human beings in Boston hasn’t really matched up with my hopes.

  4. 5 November 2010 at 12:53 pm

    Glad to hear things are going well – I thought your doctorate was going to take longer than that. It would be great to see you again – hopefully I’ll still be in Korea upon your glorious return.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

